12th International Congress on the Archaeology of the Ancient Near East, Bologna, 6-9 April 2021



The 12th ICAANE has been carried out remotely (only for registered participants) during the week from 6th to 9th April 2021. While we have all experienced in those months considerable restrictions to our professional and personal lives, we believe that, keeping safety as our first and foremost concern, it has been most important to start to reconnect our scientific community and begin to imagine and reflect together, communicating policies and practices within a changed (and ever more challenging, in the context of the current pandemic) landscape.

The Congress has been live streamed, for registered participants, on 12icaane.ibrida.io. You can find here to the right the General Program. On top of the funds collected through fees, we have invested also considerable resources on this state-of-the-art technological infrastructure that has allowed, in addition to live streaming, also Q&A and private chats (during "coffee breaks" and beyond). Besides the live streaming website and equipment, we also invested on the golden open access publication of the proceedings with Harrassowitz. 15 virtual rooms functioning in parallel allowed speakers to present, with copyright protection, their papers to the virtual audience of registered participants. Discussions moderated by the session chairperson were possible as well (remote questions via chat only). Sessions have been recorded and their video recordings was released on the platform in the evening of the same day when they take place.

The opening and closing sessions were public: besides being broadcasted on the platform, they are also available on the YouTube OrientLab Channel.

Workshops were listed in the schedule within the main themes of the Congress. Posters have been presented into a virtual room and they are available for download, with a prior registration which we suggested is made into the SocArXiv database as a precaution for intellectual protection. Poster authors had the possibility to discuss their work with participants within this digital environment.

Recordings of sessions have been made in order to allow participants to fully benefit from all the papers presented: they have remained fully visible (and accessible to all interested colleagues) on the 12icaane.ibrida.io platform for more than ten months after the congress and have now been pulled offline.


12th ICAANE Organizing Committee

Pierfrancesco Callieri

Maurizio Cattani

Enrico Cirelli

Antonio Curci

Anna Chiara Fariselli

Henning Franzmeier

Elisabetta Govi

Mattia Guidetti

Francesco Iacono

Simone Mantellini

Gianni Marchesi

Nicolò Marchetti (Chair)

Palmiro Notizia

Adriano V. Rossi

Marco Zecchi


12th ICAANE Scientific Advisory Board

Pascal Butterlin – University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Peter Fischer – University of Gothenburg

Tim Harrison – University of Toronto

Nicolò Marchetti – Alma Mater Studiorum - University of Bologna

Wendy Matthews – University of Reading

Adelheid Otto – Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Glenn Schwartz – Johns Hopkins University

Ingolf Thuesen – University of Copenhagen


12th ICAANE Unibo Executive Team

Michael Campeggi

Vittoria Cardini

Francesca Cavaliere  

Claudia D'Orazio (Scientific Secretary)

Valentina Gallerani

Gabriele Giacosa

Elena Maini

Eleonora Mariani

Chiara Mattioli

Jacopo Monastero 

Valentina Orrù

Giulia Roberto 

Marco Valeri

Federico Zaina


ICAANE International Committee

Pascal Butterlin – University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Bleda Düring – University of Leiden

Marian Feldman – Johns Hopkins University

Karin Kopetzky – OREA, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Wendy Matthews – University of Reading

Adelheid Otto – Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Frances Pinnock – Sapienza University of Rome (Secretary General)

Ingolf Thuesen – University of Copenhagen (Chair)

Cristina Tonghini – Ca' Foscari University of Venice

Honorary Members:

Manfred Bietak – Austrian Academy of Sciences

Hartmut Kühne – Free University of Berlin

Paolo Matthiae – Sapienza University of Rome

Diederik Meijer – University of Leiden

Alan Walmsley – University of Copenhagen

Irene Winter – Harvard University