Fifth Circular

The Alma Mater Studiorum – University of Bologna, with its partners Ismeo and FAM, is hosting the 12th ICAANE from 6th to 9th April 2021. We look forward to welcoming you (remotely) in a multidisciplinary environment pursuing interconnections (both geographical and chronological) and inclusivity at all levels: the congress themes (for which see the First Circular) have been selected in an attempt at representing the current breadth and urgency of global challenges and research perspectives.

We supply below some technical information for registered participants only.

1) The streaming platform will be provided by the Ibrida company through a dedicated link. Participants have received - to the email with which they have registered (if that has changed, please contact - from Ibrida (please check that its email from does not go into spam) the instructions for the first login to their personal profile, which is the first necessary step to start using the platform. The congress will take place remotely within this platform: users will be able to easily switch through the various virtual rooms. They may submit their questions in the chat of each room and the chair of the session will moderate the discussion with the presenter. Each presentation will appear with the congress watermark for protecting each one’s copyright.

2) The 15-minutes videos which participants are advised to upload on the platform (extensions: .wmv, .avi, .mov, .mp4) by March 21st are only meant as backups (i.e. to be used in case of connection issues). At the end of each congress’ day, the full video of each session recorded by Ibrida will be released on the platform itself and will remain accessible there until May 15th 2021. Thus, all participants will have the chance to stream all the papers they are interested into.

3) Posters will be uploaded (extensions: .pdf, .jpg, .tiff) in a special area of the platform by March 31st. They can be searched according to the keywords present in their titles and downloaded. They will remain accessible there until May 15th 2021. A specific email will be sent to all poster authors about the registration into SocArXiv.

4) During the coffee breaks in particular, but in fact through the entire event, participants have the possibility to chat privately on a one-to-one basis within the platform. For multi-person chats or private video calls, participants must instead use alternative services outside of the platform.

5) The opening session will be public: besides being broadcasted on the platform, there will also be a live broadcast on the YouTube OrientLab channel. Feel free to disseminate the 6th April morning event.

6) Publishers and booksellers will showcase their special offers in a dedicated section of the platform and participants may also chat with their staff.

8) Our website will be updated with all materials (abstract book etc.) concerning the event.

9) The Italian Prime Minister Mario Draghi has issued on March the 2nd a new decree which will remain valid until the next April the 6th included. During this period, any social event is forbidden. Measures will be updated closer to that date for the following period. Due to this prolonged uncertainty, we can foresee that those of you wishing to attend in person (actually a small minority according to the preferences expressed on the Ibrida platform thus far) might face considerable impediments in planning their trip. For this reason, we have decided to officially declare the 12th ICAANE a fully-online event, to which we will dedicate all of our energies. At the same time, since we will save some of the funds initially intended for the welcome cocktail and coffee breaks, we will transfer the amount saved to the organizers of the 13th ICAANE with the specific request to use it to fund travel scholarships for Middle Eastern students to the next Congress.

We look forward to finally welcoming, remotely, all participants in Bologna next April


12th ICAANE Organizing Committee

Pierfrancesco Callieri

Maurizio Cattani

Enrico Cirelli

Antonio Curci

Anna Chiara Fariselli

Henning Franzmeier

Elisabetta Govi

Mattia Guidetti

Francesco Iacono

Simone Mantellini

Gianni Marchesi

Nicolò Marchetti (Chair)

Palmiro Notizia

Adriano V. Rossi

Marco Zecchi


12th ICAANE Scientific Advisory Board

Pascal Butterlin – University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Peter Fischer – University of Gothenburg

Tim Harrison – University of Toronto

Nicolò Marchetti – Alma Mater Studiorum - University of Bologna

Wendy Matthews – University of Reading

Adelheid Otto – Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich

Glenn Schwartz – Johns Hopkins University

Ingolf Thuesen – University of Copenhagen


12th ICAANE Unibo Executive Team

Michael Campeggi

Vittoria Cardini

Francesca Cavaliere  

Claudia D'Orazio (Scientific Secretary)

Valentina Gallerani

Gabriele Giacosa

Elena Maini

Eleonora Mariani

Chiara Mattioli

Jacopo Monastero 

Valentina Orrù

Giulia Roberto 

Marco Valeri

Federico Zaina


ICAANE International Committee

Pascal Butterlin – University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Bleda Düring – University of Leiden

Marian Feldman – Johns Hopkins University

Karin Kopetzky – OREA, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Wendy Matthews – University of Reading

Adelheid Otto – Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität

Frances Pinnock – Sapienza University of Rome (Secretary General)

Ingolf Thuesen – University of Copenhagen (Chair)

Cristina Tonghini – Ca' Foscari University of Venice

Honorary Members:

Manfred Bietak – Austrian Academy of Sciences

Hartmut Kühne – Free University of Berlin

Jean-Claude Margueron – École Pratique des Hautes Études

Paolo Matthiae – Sapienza University of Rome

Diederik Meijer – University of Leiden

Alan Walmsley – University of Copenhagen

Irene Winter – Harvard University